How much trouble can you get into for a fake ID in Florida?
You’re only young once, right? You’ve heard stories about your parents sneaking into bars and borrowing their older sibling’s driver’s license to buy beer. They obviously lived a little, so why shouldn’t you?
Well, mostly because things have changed quite a bit since your parents were young. What once earned your parents a stern lecture and a warning can land you in jail.
Florida has zero tolerance for minors in possession of alcohol
Even with your parents’ consent, you can’t have a sip of beer or a glass of wine until you’re 21. Possession of alcohol by a minor (whether you’re drinking it or not) is treated as a misdemeanor offense — but that’s still quite serious. You can face up to 60 days in jail, a $500 fine, six months of probation and a suspended driver’s license if you’re convicted — not to mention the trouble you may have with your school.
Florida gets even tougher if you use a fake ID to obtain that alcohol
If you borrowed, swiped or printed an ID card to get that alcohol and you’re caught with it, you can be charged with a third-degree felony offense. That ups the stakes dramatically.
If convicted, you face up to $5,000 in fines and up to five years in prison. Plus, the damage to your future will likely be considerable. A felony on your record can prevent you from getting federal money for school, obtaining a professional license, finding housing and more.
Play it smart: Forgo the fake ID and forget about drinking until you’re of legal age. If you do make a mistake, however, speak with an experienced attorney before you speak with the police.