Don’t share alcohol with minors on your beach vacation
Family vacations at the shore are a great way for parents to reconnect with teens and young adults with whom the communication channels may have gotten a bit crossed. Generations of timeless wisdom have been shared between parents and kids as they relax and gaze over the water.
Nonetheless, there is one thing that you definitely want to avoid sharing with your underage son or daughter — alcohol. While you might feel perfectly fine drinking a beer with your 20-year-old son at home while working on the car in the garage or allowing your 19-year-old daughter to have a glass of wine with you during family dinners, here in Florida, doing this could result in charges of minor in possession of alcohol.
Since no one wants to go on vacation and wind up on probation, it is vital that you understand and abide by the Florida state statutes regarding underage drinking. As their parent, allowing or facilitating their underage consumption of alcohol might even engender its own charges of contributing to the delinquency of minors, dependent upon the circumstances.
Of course, teens and young adults certainly do have minds of their own. While they may give lip service to abiding by the laws, they may also have their own vacation agenda — and it might include underage alcohol consumption. So, if your daughter gets busted with a wine cooler on a late-night walk on the beach or your son gets nailed shotgunning a beer on the hotel balcony, seeking legal counsel immediately can help you avoid having the situation turn from bad to worse.